top of page

Family - Mustelidae

(Weasel Family)


Mustelidae is the largest family within Carnivora and is made of 56 species and 22 genera. The members of this family include weasels, minks, stoats, polecats, martens, fishers, wolverines, and others. Adult mustelids range from 114 mm and 25 grams to over 1m and 45 kg. Most species have a long, slender body with short legs. Mustelids typically live between 5 and 20 years.


Mustelidae are either diurnal or nocturnal. Many of the long, narrow-bodied species are quick and agile and move in a bounding, scampering manner. Some species are adept climbers, while others are superb swimmers. Mustelidae are highly carnivorous, but some species may at times eat plant materials. A wide range of animal taxa are preyed upon by various members of this family; many mustelids are opportunistic feeders rather than being specialists. Mustelids are hunted by larger Carnivora, snakes, and birds of prey.


Author: Cameren C.

Published: 10/2008


Photo Credit:






bottom of page