top of page

Family - Hyaenidae

(Hyena Family)


The Hyaenidae is a mammalian family of order Carnivora. The Hyaenidae family can be found in both African and Asian continents. There are four living species: the Striped Hyena and Brown Hyena, the Spotted Hyena, and the Aardwolf. Hyenas look a lot like the dog family, however, they are more like the mongoose family. All species have a distinctly bear-like stance because their front legs are longer than their back legs.


The Aardwolf, Striped Hyena and Brown Hyena have striped pelts and manes lining the top of their necks which erect when frightened. The Spotted Hyena's fur is considerably shorter and spotted rather than striped. Spotted Hyenas and, to a lesser extent, Striped and Brown Hyenas, have powerful carnassial teeth adapted for cutting flesh and premolars for crushing bone. Spotted hyenas have a strong bite proportional to their size.


Author: Vivian Y

Published: 12/10


Photo Credit:






bottom of page