top of page

Order - Carcharhiniformes (Ground Sharks)


The order Carcharhiniformes, which are also known as ground sharks are the largest order of sharks. There are over 270 species of ground sharks with the most famous one being the blue shark, cat sharks, swell sharks, and sandbar shark. Members of the orders have a nictitating membrane, which is a third eyelid that wipes horizontally over the eye. This third eyelid protects the eye while striking at prey. They also have two dorsal fins and five-gill slits.


Author: Merrick S.

Published: 10/2008


Photo Credit:

bottom of page