top of page

Common Name: Scorpion

Scientific Name: Timogenes elegans


Kingdom: Animalia

Phylum: Arthropoda

Class: Arachnida 

Order: Scorpiones

Family: Bothriuridae

Genus: Timogenes

Species: T. elegans



Timogenes elegans is a type of scorpion. All scorpions are arachnids.  All scorpions have eight legs.  Timogenes elegans averages 12 cm long.  Similar types of animals include spiders, mites, and ticks.  The Timogenes elegans eat insects.  They can quickly grab an insect with their pincers and with their tails.  They defend themselves by using their tails or their pincers.  Scorpions can live in the desert, Brazilian rain forests, British Columbia, North Carolina and the  Himalayas. Timogenes elegans lives primarily in South America.  They can be found in small cracks or crevices, under rocks, and in little burrows.  There are 1,200 species of scorpions.  Some scorpions are poisonous to man, but the Timogenes elegans is not.

Author: Joshua S

Published: 02/2013



bottom of page